Rice Shortage

April 1, 2008 at 6:49 pm 3 comments

super-sad.gif Rice rice baby.. eiiink.

Rice shortage. Philippines is known to be one of the major suppliers of rice in Asia. And now, Pinas (my dear Pinas) is experiencing rice shortage. This is somewhat unbelievable to our ears, but yes fellow pinoys, we are experiencing rice shortage. News about this had been aired for like more than a week already. True enough, it is indeed very very alarming.

I highly agree that we are wasting a lot of rice especially when we eat outside (like in restaurants). We order an extra rice, and we don’t eat every bit of it. I mean, for me, it’s sort of okay to waste a little viand, but for me, wasting rice is a big no-no. And unfortunately, the alarming stage has already arrived and its up to all of us to do something about it. 30-4o pesos per kilo?! It’s too expensive.

I remember when I was younger, I used to help in my grandmom’s sari-sari store and the most expensive rice is around 23 pesos per kilo. I mean, whoaww.. The price hike is too much. I can’t imagine what the lower class people would be eating. But I guess we really aren’t suffering from rice scarcity or shortage. I mean, Philippines is rich in terms of rice production. Perhaps the government just wants us to warn that we are wasting too much rice per year. Though the government is becoming too stern about this issue. I just hope the government isn’t making this issue for the sake of letting the people know that they are really doing something about this, or maybe even asking too much from the people. This is really sad. 😦

signature.gif

Entry filed under: featured, opinyon. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Rude & Cruel Tindera Round 2 bilangan ng Project Lafftrip Laffapalooza

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yahwe  |  April 6, 2008 at 10:05 am

    hirap nga ngayon dapat lahat ng bigas kakainin mo ahahahay

    Reply
  • 2. batang buotan  |  April 8, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I see some advantages on this issue.
    1. Looming food (rice) crises, encourages sharing of ideas on food security, far better than talking about Lozada.
    2. It’s an opportunity for the agriculture sector to be given enough space, thus, the plight of the farmers are heard.
    3. It calls us to impose alternative measures to have sustainable supply of food.
    4. It makes us re-think our policies like population, agri infrastructure, others..

    Reply
  • 3. styxx  |  April 15, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Hi … i’m not pro goverment and speacially i hate politics … but one thing for sure … kailangan natin …. DISIPLINA and Unity. then if we filipinos are successful doing this …. then … we can say .. I’m proud being one …. and this thing will not happen …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Author


Despite my flaws,
I'm still superb.

Kalendaryo

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

